Ryan’s mighty award for dedication

A BASKETBALL coach has been recognised for his efforts with a prestigious award named in honour of a victim of the Manchester Arena terror attack.

Martyn Hett Trophy – Ryan Conroy

And a mother-of-four who also helps coach children football has scooped the Martyn Hett Trophy.

Ryan Conroy is one of the coaches at Tameside Basketball Club, which trains at Alder Community High school in Gee Cross.

He works with teams from school year three – or seven-years-old – right up to the men’s team and all side represent the area on either a local or national level.

All that while battling illness that restricts his own ability to play the game.

A nomination for the 29-year-old reads: “Ryan is in his 20s and coaches grassroots basketball on a volunteer basis.

“Ryan has an illness himself which has made him being able to play himself limited and he is often not feeling 100 per cent but he is dedicated to all the teams and also supports new coaches who come forward.

“He trains teams every night of the week and supports or coaches games on a Saturday and Sunday. He is very well respected.”

Organisers of the Martyn Hett Trophy could not resist and made Ryan one of six recipients at this year’s ceremony.

Martyn was one of the 22 victims of the Manchester bomb in 2017 and 2019 is the third year of the awards, first won by Tony Hillier of the Hyde Running Community and given to Dr Ron Hill last year.

Martyn Hett Trophy – Vicky Haynes

This year’s recipients will once again by chosen by Martyn’s dad Paul and are all people in the local community who have inspired physical activity and played a part in making activity accessible for all.

About 100 people, including Mayor of Tameside Councillor Leigh Drennan, attended the ceremony at Hyde pub The Sportsman.

And money was raised for the Kidscan charity, who Martyn worked with before his death and generates funds for research into childhood cancers.

With local businesses donating prizes for raffles, more than £1,000 has been raised in total.
Overall winner of the Martyn Hett Trophy was Vicky Haynes, a football coach to Stalybridge Celtic Juniors’ Under-9s Blues.

Other recipients this year were Denton-based judo coach Barry Wickham, bowling coach Charlie Cooper, Ryan Sproat – who helps co-ordinate Hyde Parkrun – and Gareth Howell from Hattersley FC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *